California Property Tax Postponement Program

The PTP program allows eligible homeowners to postpone L
payment of property taxes on a primary residence. COUNTY

Who is eligible?

e Beat least 62, or blind, or have a disability

e Own and occupy the home as your primary place of residence;
¢ [Have a total household income of $35,000 or less;

¢ Have at least 40 percent equity in the property; and

e Other requirements.

When can I submit an application for the Property Tax Postponement (PTP) Program?

¢ Beginning in October of 2016, the application filing period is October 1st through February 10th of each year.
We encourage applicants to file as early as possible but not before the filing period begins on October Ist.

When will applicants receive notification that their application is approved?

¢ The State Controller’s Office will review and approve or deny applications on a first come, first served, rolling
basis during and around the application filing period. Applicants will receive a notice that their application was
received. Once the application is reviewed, the applicant will be notified if it is incomplete, or whether it was
approved or denied. If approved, they will also receive an approximate date on which payment on their behalf
will be issued to the county.

Will a refinance, reverse mortgage, or home equity loan affect eligibility?

¢ An applicant who has refinanced or obtained an equity loan is not automatically disqualified from PTP.
However, such loans may drop the amount of equity in the home below the required 40 percent threshold for PTP
eligibility. An applicant with an existing reverse mortgage is not eligible for PTP, because the amount of equity
in the home is being drawn down. If a current PTP program claimant refinances or obtains a reverse mortgage
repayment of postponed taxes (plus accrued interest) becomes due and payable.

All taxes postponed under PTP and interest become due and payable if the:
¢ Property is no longer the claimant’s principal place of residence;

¢ Claimant dies ( and there is no approved surviving spouse);

¢ Claimant sells, conveys, or otherwise transfers the property;

¢ Claimant becomes delinquent on a senior lien;

+ Claimant refinances or obtains reverse mortgage; or

¢ State controller’s Office learns postponement was in error.

Does the state take title to the property once the application is approved?

¢ No. The state places a lien against the property when the postponement is authorized, but the title to the property
does not change.

Do mobile homes or manufactured homes qualify for this program? If the home is on a permanent foundation
and is not separately taxed, can it qualify for this program?

¢+ No. The revised California law does not allow PTP for any kind of mobile or manufactured home, whether or not
it is affixed to land.

Questions? Want more information? Contact the Controller’s office at (800) 952-5661 or
postponement(@sco.ca.gov or visit website at www.sco.ca.gov




