

Fact Sheet

Mandatory Water Conservation Regulation Go Into Effect

An <u>emergency regulation</u> to increase conservation practices for all Californians became effective July 29, 2014. The new conservation regulation targets outdoor urban water use. In some areas of the State, 50 percent or more of daily water use is for lawns and outdoor landscaping. This regulation establishes the minimum level of activity that residents, businesses and water suppliers must meet as the drought deepens and will be in effect for 270 days unless extended or repealed.

Prohibitions for ALL urban water users in California:

- The application of potable water to any driveway or sidewalk.
- Using potable water to water outdoor landscapes in a manner that causes runoff to adjacent property, non-irrigated areas, private and public walkways, roadways, parking lots or structures.
- Using a hose that dispenses potable water to wash a motor vehicle, unless the hose is fitted with a shut-off nozzle.
- Using potable water in a fountain or decorative water feature, unless the water is recirculated. Recycled water is not mandated, but encouraged for fountain use.

Requirements for Urban Water Suppliers (serving >3000 connections):

- Implement water shortage contingency plans to a level where restrictions on outdoor irrigation are mandatory.
- Urban water suppliers without a plan, or without an adequate plan, must either mandate that outdoor irrigation be reduced to no more than twice a week or implement other mandatory use restrictions that provide a comparable level of savings.
- Report monthly water production beginning August 15. Include an estimate of the gallons per capita per day used by residential customers beginning with the October 15 report.

Requirements for Other Water Suppliers (serving <3000 connections):

• Mandate that outdoor irrigation be reduced to no more than twice a week or implement other mandatory use restrictions that provide a comparable level of savings.







Assessing Compliance

- Individual Prohibitions evaluating alleged violations and taking enforcement action is primarily a local discretionary action.
- Water Suppliers compliance will be evaluated based on multiple factors including implementation of the required actions, the content of the monthly reports (Urban Water Suppliers), and other relevant information.

Tips for Implementing the New Regulations

- Notify and educate staff, ratepayers and the community at large about the prohibitions.
- Inform ratepayers of the requirements of the stage of the Water Shortage Contingency Plan required by the regulations.
- Access the water conservation resources clearinghouse, a partnership of the State of California and the Association of California Water Agencies at either http://saveourwater.com/

Contact Information

- Report State Agency water waste at http://www.saveourh2o.org/report-water-waste
- Contact the State Water Board's drought hotline for questions on drought-related activities including general questions on the emergency regulations: (916) 341-5342.

More information on the emergency regulation can be found at the Conservation Regulation Portal.

(This fact sheet was last updated July 29, 2014)