LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION COUNTY OF SAN BERNARDINO

215 North D Street, Suite 204, San Bernardino, CA 92415-0490 (909) 383-9900 • Fax (909) 383-9901 E-MAIL: lafco@lafco.sbcounty.gov www.sbclafco.org

DATE : August 6, 2012 FROM: KATHLEEN ROLLINGS-McDONALD, Executive Officer

TO: LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

SUBJECT: Agenda Item 15: Selection of CALAFCO Caucus Voting Delegate

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the Commission select the following voting delegates for the Southern Region Caucus for CALAFCO Board of Directors:

- 1. James Curatalo, primary
- 2. Kathleen Rollings-McDonald, alternate

BACKGROUND:

At the CALAFCO Annual Conference elections will occur for the Southern Region representatives on the Board of Directors. The positions up for election are Board of Supervisor and Special District representatives. The position will be for a two year term.

Pursuant to CALAFCO bylaws the voting delegates for the regional caucuses must be forwarded to the CALAFCO Executive Director prior to the opening of the Annual Conference. Therefore, LAFCO staff is recommending that the Commission designate:

- 1. Chair Curatalo as the voting delegate.
- 2. Executive Officer Kathleen Rollings-McDonald as the alternate voting delegate.

Discussion at the CCL meeting scheduled for August 13 will identify the candidates for the open seats which are: City member (currently Eugene Montanez) and Public member (Andy Vanderlaan). Staff will apprise the Commission at the hearing of the determinations made at the CCL Board Meeting.

Staff will be happy to answer any questions prior to or at the hearing.

KRM