(Traffic Safety Awareness for Everyone)
Why A Booster Seat?
protect children who are too big for a car seat with a harness, but still too small
for a seat belt. Booster seats help to position a child to properly use the vehicle
seat belt. Seat belts worn incorrectly can cause serious injury to a child in a
Booster seats are required for children up to at least 8 years of age, and
who are less than 4 feet 9 inches in height.
Low-Cost Car Seat Program
The San Bernardino County Department of Public Health provides a free, one-hour
car seat safety class for income-eligible San Bernardino County residents.
The class provides parents with a demonstration of how to safely transport children
in a family vehicle. Participants are shown how to select and install the proper
car seat or booster seat, and learn about the California laws that apply. Classes
are offered each month in English and in Spanish.
Income-eligible families who attend a car seat safety class may purchase any of
the following low-cost car seats:
Convertible seat, or
Violator Intervention Program (V.I.P.)
The Traffic SAFE program also provides a class for people who have been fined for
violating California buckle-up laws. The violator intervention class takes 3-hours
to complete, and is offered in English and Spanish. There is a $50 fee for the class.
Participants who successfully complete the class are issued a certificate to satisfy
the court-ordered requirement.
The staff members in the Traffic SAFE program are Certified Child Passenger Safety
Technicians. They have successfully completed the National Highway and Traffic Safety
Administration (NTHSA) comprehensive course on child passenger safety.
To get a class schedule and register, call the San Bernardino County Department
of Public Health toll-free telephone number: 1 (800) 782-4264 Please be prepared
to answer questions that will help the Child Passenger Safety Technicians to select
the proper seat for your child, including:
Child’s age, height and weight
Year and type of vehicle
Type of seat belt system in vehicle
$35.00 Convertible Car Seat, Combination Seat, or Hi-Back Booster Seat
$50.00 Violator Class
Belt Safe U.S.A. is a national
non-profit organization established in 1980, solely dedicated to child passenger