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It is the policy of the Department of Behavioral Health to support staff efforts
to become licensed professionals who deliver quality mental health services.

The License Exam Prep Program (LEPP) was designed as a result of the
workforce needs assessment completed for the Workforce Education and
Training (WET) component of the Mental Health Services Act (MHSA). The
Department of Behavioral Health has a disproportionate number of pre-
licensed staff to licensed staff. To assist staff to become licensed, funding
has been allocated to pay for a License Prep Program for Social Workers
(MSWs), Marriage and Family Therapists (MFTs) and Psychologists who are
DBH and contract agency staff.

The following is a list of the eligibility criteria for the program:
¢ Must not already be licensed (LCSW, LMFT or Psychology)
¢ Must have supervisor approval

¢ Must agree to take the initial exam within one year

¢ Be willing to complete all forms

¢ For Psychologists:

o To take the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP),
must have completed a qualifying doctorate degree and at least 1500
hours of qualifying supervised professional experience, and be ready to
take the exam

o To take the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE),
must have completed all 3000 hours of qualifying supervised professional
experience and have passed the EPPP

o To take the California Psychology Law & Ethics Examination (CPLEE),
must meet the California Board of Psychology’s requirements and be
ready to take the exam

e For MSWs or MFTs, must be within 250 hours of completion of required
hours to take the exam

Note: This is not an entitlement program. Only employees who meet the
criteria above as well as meet performance standards will be selected to
participate.
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Application/ All employees selected for this program will be required to sign an agreement
Agreement and other enrollment forms as part of the application. The agreement will
include requirements to:
¢ Take the initial licensing exam within one (1) year of receiving the exam
materials. If the initial exam isn’t taken within one (1) year, the participant
will be dropped from the program.
¢ If the initial exam is passed within two (2) years, funding may be provided
for the second exam. If the initial exam is not passed within two (2) years,
the employee will be dropped from the program and will need to re-apply
for eligibility for funding for the second exam after passing the initial exam
e Participate in all aspects of the license prep program for which the
participant has requested enroliment, including attending a mandatory
orientation
e Communicate to or provide to the WET Program:
o The date of the scheduled exam, and exam results (pass/fail)
o Proof of passing an exam
o Proof of attendance for in-person training (workshops)

Note: Failure to adhere to these requirements may disqualify the employee
from program participation. Exam results are needed to determine the
effectiveness of the vendors selected for the license prep training and the
overall effectiveness of the program.

Important: LEPP exam timelines are based on program participation and
are not intended to supersede timelines of licensure requirements under the
Registration and Licensure Requirements for Clinical Therapists policy.

How to apply Complete the survey which will be sent to staff when funding is available for
the program. Participants will be chosen from the survey responses.

Availability of This program is offered at the discretion of DBH when funds are available.

the program The program can be discontinued at any time when funding is not available.
If the program does not produce an increase in the number and retention of
licensed staff, the program may be discontinued.

Questions For questions about this program, contact the DBH Workforce Education and
Training Manager or Intern Supervisors.
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