www.SBCounty.gov



## **County Administrative Office** Governmental & Legislative Affairs

Josh Candelaria Governmental & Legislative Affairs Director

March 8, 2016

The Honorable Marc Steinorth California State Assembly State Capitol, Suite 2111 Sacramento, CA 94249-0040

## Re: AB 1569 (Steinorth) - As introduced January 4, 2016 - SUPPORT

Dear Assemblyman Steinorth:

The County of San Bernardino is pleased to support AB 1569, which would exempt from CEQA projects including maintenance, repair, rehabilitation, replacement or certain additions to transportation infrastructure, provided the projects are within the existing right-of-way.

Full environmental reviews of routine maintenance or improvement projects for existing roadways, tunnels and bridges dramatically increases costs to the taxpayers, and creates significant delays to project completion, affecting commerce and the safety and quality of life of the traveling public.

AB 1569 balances the public's interest in repairing and maintaining existing transportation infrastructure against the need to protect California's natural resources. The bill would require that any project eligible for the exemption would still have to comply with regulatory requirements that protect water quality and endangered species, as well as permits required by any other state or federal law. While this CEQA exemption would help to expedite projects to maintain existing transportation infrastructure within the existing right-of-way that do not require regulatory permits, the overwhelming funding shortfall that local governments face will require both project streamlining and new resources.

For these reasons, the County of San Bernardino is pleased to support AB 1569. If you have any questions, please contact Josh Candelaria, Director of Governmental and Legislative Affairs at (909) 387-4821 or <u>icandelaria@sbcounty.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

JAMES RAMOS Board of Supervisors Chairman Third District Supervisor County of San Bernardino

## BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

ROBERT A. LOVINGOOD Vice Chairman, First District JANICE RUTHERFORD Second District

JAMES RAMOS Chairman, Third District CURT HAGMAN Fourth District

JOSIE GONZALES Fifth District GREGORY C. DEVEREAUX Chief Executive Officer