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Policy It is the policy of the Department of Behavioral Health to support staff efforts 

to become licensed professionals who deliver quality mental health services. 

 
Background The License Exam Prep Program (LEPP) was designed as a result of the 

workforce needs assessment completed for the Workforce Education and 
Training (WET) component of the Mental Health Services Act (MHSA).  The 
Department of Behavioral Health has a disproportionate number of pre-
licensed staff to licensed staff.  To assist staff to become licensed, funding 
has been allocated to pay for a License Prep Program for Social Workers 
(MSWs), Marriage and Family Therapists (MFTs) and Psychologists who are 
DBH and contract agency staff.   

 
Eligibility 
Criteria 

The following is a list of the eligibility criteria for the program: 

 Must not already be licensed (LCSW, LMFT or Psychology) 

 Must have supervisor approval 

 Must agree to take the initial exam within one year 

 Be willing to complete all forms 

 For Psychologists: 
o To take the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), 

must have completed a qualifying doctorate degree and at least 1500 
hours of qualifying supervised professional experience, and be ready to 
take the exam 

o To take the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE), 
must have completed all 3000 hours of qualifying supervised professional 
experience and have passed the EPPP 

o To take the California Psychology Law & Ethics Examination (CPLEE), 
must meet the California Board of Psychology’s requirements and be 
ready to take the exam 

 For MSWs or MFTs, must be within 250 hours of completion of required 
hours to take the exam 

 
Note: This is not an entitlement program.  Only employees who meet the 
criteria above as well as meet performance standards will be selected to 
participate. 

Continued on next page 



County of San Bernardino 
Department of Behavioral Health 

 

TRA8010 Training Page 2 of 2 

License Exam Prep Program Policy, Continued 

 
All employees selected for this program will be required to sign an agreement 
and other enrollment forms as part of the application.  The agreement will 
include requirements to: 

 Take the initial licensing exam within one (1) year of receiving the exam 
materials.  If the initial exam isn’t taken within one (1) year, the participant 
will be dropped from the program. 

  If the initial exam is passed within two (2) years, funding may be provided 
for the second exam.  If the initial exam is not passed within two (2) years, 
the employee will be dropped from the program and will need to re-apply 
for eligibility for funding for the second exam after passing the initial exam 

 Participate in all aspects of the license prep program for which the 
participant has requested enrollment, including attending a mandatory 
orientation  

 Communicate to or provide to the WET Program: 
o The date of the scheduled exam, and exam results (pass/fail) 
o Proof of passing an exam 
o Proof of attendance for in-person training (workshops) 

 
Note: Failure to adhere to these requirements may disqualify the employee 
from program participation.  Exam results are needed to determine the 
effectiveness of the vendors selected for the license prep training and the 
overall effectiveness of the program. 
 
Important: LEPP exam timelines are based on program participation and 
are not intended to supersede timelines of licensure requirements under the 

Registration and Licensure Requirements for Clinical Therapists policy.   

 
How to apply Complete the survey which will be sent to staff when funding is available for 

the program.  Participants will be chosen from the survey responses. 

 
Availability of 
the program 

This program is offered at the discretion of DBH when funds are available.  
The program can be discontinued at any time when funding is not available.  
If the program does not produce an increase in the number and retention of 
licensed staff, the program may be discontinued. 

 
Questions For questions about this program, contact the DBH Workforce Education and 

Training Manager or Intern Supervisors. 

 

 

http://countyline/dbh/SPM/Manual_Docs/HR4012.pdf

