Apple Valley Station Enforcing Seat Belt Laws
May 26, 2021
The San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department, Apple Valley Station, has launched its Click it or Ticket campaign, running through June 6.
During this time, the Apple Valley Station will be actively looking for drivers and passengers who are not wearing a seat belt. This includes drivers who do not secure children in child safety seats.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), of the 22,215 passenger vehicle occupants killed in 2019, 43 percent (9,466) were not wearing seat belts.
In 2019, 620 passengers killed in crashes across California were not wearing a seat belt. California law requires a child to be properly secured in a car or booster seat in the back seat, until they are at least 8 years of age or at least 4’9” tall. Children under the age of 2 shall ride in a rear-facing seat unless child weighs 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall.